Anthony Janji
A Professional Law Corporation

1609 W. Valley Blvd.
Suite 108
Alhambra, CA 91803
T: (877) 748-5121
T: (626) 300-9900
F: (626) 300-0909


DUI

DUI

Drunk driving is the most often committed violent crime in California.  California DUI laws and California DUI Penalties are so strict, that the state leads the nation in DUI arrests.  Some serious penalties are vehicle impoundment, high fines, house arrest, long jail term, local incarceration, suspension or cancellation of driving license, and so on.

That’s where Anthony Janji- A Professional Law Corporation comes inOur legal representation rates are very affordable, quality service and availability you simply can't match by anyone for California DUI's.

For case specific advice, contact Anthony Janji- A Professional Law Corporation for a free consultation either in person or over the phone toll free at (877) 748-5121.



DUI  FAQ

Q:  What happens if I am stopped for drunk driving?

A:  When you're stopped for drunk driving, DUI, (or for something else and a police officer has reason to believe you've been drinking), you will generally be asked to take a sobriety test (blood, breath or urine) to determine your Blood Alcohol Level. This means that you must submit to a test or face fines and/or license suspension- sometimes right on the spot - for refusing to take the test because of your DUI In California.

Q: What happens next?

A:  If you refuse the chemical test or are found to have a BAC over the state limit, chances are you'll be taken into custody and brought to a police station where you'll be held until someone can pick you up. Besides, your license may be temporarily suspended and your vehicle may be impounded for time after the incident.

Q:  What happens if I am found guilty in court?

A:  If you're found guilty, most courts will:

  • Impose Fines and Some Add On an extra Driver Responsibility Tax
  • Suspend or Revoke Your License
  • Want Participation in a Drunk Driver Education Program
  • Add Points to Your License…not to mention your Car Insurance will increase
  • Need Community Service Work
  • Install an ignition Interlock Device On Your Vehicle

 

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of either alcohol or drugs, there are some things you should know about this type of offense and its potentially serious consequences.

Common Charges

California Vehicle Code Sections:

  • 23152(a) It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.
  • 23152(b) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.
  • 23153(a) Driving under the influence and causing injury, if you were involved in an injury automobile accident while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  This offense can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor.

 MAXIMUM PENALTIES- VC 23152 (a) or (b)

  • 1st Offense- 180 days County Jail + Fine
  • 2nd Offense within 10 years- 1 year County Jail + Fine
  • 3rd Offense within 10 years- 1 year County Jail + Fine
  • 4th Offense within 10 years- Felony with up to 3 years State Prison

MAXIMUM PENALTIES- VC 23153 (a)

  • Misdemeanor- 1 yr. County Jail
  • Felony- 3 years State Prison


SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVER LICENSE

On a first time offense, the Judge will restrict your license for 90-120 days, allowing you to drive to and from work or school, to and from the alcohol program and in case of emergency and other special circumstances.  

Remember, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can and usually will suspend your license separately from the court. Depending on the circumstances, this suspension can sometimes last months longer than the one imposed by the courts. You must request a separate hearing with the DMV in order to address any suspensions through that agency. Handling your court case alone will not help you avoid a DMV suspension.



DMV HEARING

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Calfiornia, you must request a DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest according to California DUI law. If you do not do so, your license will be automatically suspended or it will be revoked 30 days after your arrest.

The DMV proceeding is different from the criminal courtroom proceeding.  These hearings are much more informal and they are run by a Driver Safety Office (DSO) Hearing Officer, who is an employee of the Department of Motor Vehicles.  The standard of proof in DMV hearings is a “preponderance of the evidence”, which is a much lower standard than what is used in criminal court. 

California DMV DUI hearings can be technical, and the chances of a person winning without legal help are very low. Unfortunately, the DMV does not care about your personal life, and it makes no difference to them if you need to drive to work or school. The papers that is given to a person who is arrested for DUI can be confusing, and it does not clearly explain that a hearing must be requested in a short time.

For case specific advice, contact Anthony Janji- A Professional Law Corporation for a free consultation either in person or over the phone toll free at (877) 748-5121.